We’re counting down the days until the 25th annual Minnesota Book Awards by posting all you need to know about the finalist books and authors, and all the exhilarating gala details. A complete list of the finalists in the following eight categories can be found here. Categories: Children’s Literature • General Nonfiction • Genre Fiction • Memoir & Creative Nonfiction • Minnesota • Novel & Short Story • Poetry • Young People’s Literature.

Books created by writers and illustrators who are Minnesotans are eligible for Minnesota Book Awards. The Awards are given each year for books published in the previous year. For instance, the winners in 2012 were books published in 2011. The Book Awards process begins with nominations, which are received from authors, publishers and others from throughout the state. From the nominated works, finalists are chosen by panels of preliminary round judges. Award winners are then selected by different, final round judging panels.

Winners of the 25th Annual Minnesota Book Awards will be announced on Saturday, April 13, 2013 at the Hilton Minneapolis. The opening reception begins at 7 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 8 p.m. For tickets, visit our website or call 651-222-3242.

A book unread is a tragedy. In addition to celebrating writers and books, the Book Awards program connects Minnesota readers to Minnesota books – working to have more people of all ages read, and especially to read and support our own authors, publishers and book creators. Read local!

Visit us online at http://www.thefriends.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: