Finalists for the 25th Annual Minnesota Book Awards

The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library is pleased to announce the finalists in all eight categories for the 25th Annual Minnesota Book Awards, sponsored by Marvin Windows and Doors. Chosen on Saturday, January 26, by 24 judges from around the state – writers, teachers, librarians, booksellers, and others from the literary community – the finalists for each category are:

Children’s Literature,
sponsored by Books For Africa:

A Leaf Can Be by Laura Purdie Salas, illustrated by Violeta Dabija (Millbrook Press/Lerner Publishing Group, Inc.)

It’s a Tiger! by David LaRochelle, illustrated by Jeremy Tankard (Chronicle Books)

Tell Me About Your Day Today by Mem Fox, illustrated by Lauren Stringer (Beach Lane Books/Simon & Schuster, Inc.)

Waking Dragons by Jane Yolen, illustrated by Derek Anderson (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster, Inc.)

General Nonfiction,
sponsored by Minnesota AFL-CIO:

Debating the End of History: The Marketplace, Utopia, and the Fragmentation of Intellectual Life by David W. Noble (University of Minnesota Press)

Forward: The First American Unsupported Expedition to the North Pole by John Huston and Tyler Fish (Octane Press)

Holding Our World Together: Ojibwe Women and the Survival of Community by Brenda J. Child (Viking/Penguin Group)

Rez Life: An Indian’s Journey Through Reservation Life by David Treuer (Atlantic Monthly Press/Grove/Atlantic, Inc.)

Genre Fiction,
sponsored by Marvin Windows & Doors

Curse of the Jade Lily by David Housewright (Minotaur Books/St. Martin’s Press)

The Devil and the Diva by David Housewright and Renee Valois (Down and Out Books)

Ruth3:5 by Michael Fridgen

The Tutor’s Daughter by Julie Klassen (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group)

Memoir & Creative Nonfiction,
sponsored by
Leonard, Street and Deinard:

Letters to a Young Madman by Paul Gruchow (Levins Publishing)

Life on Ice: 25 Years of Arctic Exploration by Lonnie Dupre (Keen Editions)

My Mother Is Now Earth by Mark Anthony Rolo (Borealis Books/Minnesota Historical Society Press)

Turn Here Sweet Corn: Organic Farming Works by Atina Diffley (University of Minnesota Press)

sponsored by Meyer, Sherer & Rockcastle (MS&R):

Every Man Did His Duty: Pictures & Stories of the Men of the First Minnesota by Wayne D. Jorgenson (Tasora Books)

Lost Duluth: Landmarks, Industries, Buildings, Homes, and the Neighborhoods in Which They Stood by Tony Dierckins and Maryanne C. Norton (Zenith City Press/X-Communication)

The Minnesota Book of Skills: Your Guide to Smoking Whitefish, Sauna Etiquette, Tick Extraction, and More by Chris Niskanen (Minnesota Historical Society Press)

Mni Sota Makoce: The Land of the Dakota by Gwen Westerman and Bruce White (Minnesota Historical Society Press)

Novel & Short Story,
sponsored by Education Minnesota

The Healing by Jonathan Odell (Nan A. Talese/Random House, Inc.)

It Takes You Over by Nick Healy (New Rivers Press)

The Round House by Louise Erdrich (Harper/HarperCollins Publishers)

Vladimir’s Mustache and Other Stories by Stephan Eirik Clark (Russian Life Books)

sponsored by Wellington Management, Inc.

The First Day of Spring in Northern Minnesota by Jim Johnson (Red Dragonfly Press)

Odessa by Patricia Kirkpatrick (Milkweed Editions)

Pitch by Todd Boss (W. W. Norton & Company)

Salt Pier by Dore Kiesselbach (University of Pittsburgh Press)

Young People’s Literature,
sponsored by Sit Investment Associates:

Goblin Secrets by William Alexander (Margaret K. McElderry Books/Simon & Schuster, Inc.)

Nothing Special by Geoff Herbach (Sourcebooks Fire/Sourcebooks, Inc.)

Shadow on the Mountain by Margi Preus (Amulet Books/Abrams)

Silhouette of a Sparrow by Molly Beth Griffin (Milkweed Editions)

Award winners will be announced at the 25th Annual Minnesota Book Awards Gala on Saturday, April 13, at the Hilton Hotel, in downtown Minneapolis.  The opening reception begins at 7 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 8 p.m. Tickets are $45 and are available by calling 651-222-3242 or click here for more information.

Two special awards for contributions to Minnesota’s literary and artistic community will be given on April 13, as well.  Jana Pullman will receive the sixth annual Book Artist Award, sponsored by Lerner Publishing Group and presented with the Minnesota Center for Book Arts (MCBA). Pullman’s primary artistic work in the book arts is in the area of design bindings. An exhibit and free reception featuring her work will be held on Friday, February 8, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m., in the Cowles Literary Commons at Open Book.

The Kay Sexton Award, sponsored by Common Good Books, honors a lifetime contribution to the literary community, and the 2013 winner will be announced in late February. The Kay Sexton Award is presented annually to an individual or organization in recognition of long-standing dedication and outstanding work in fostering books, reading and literary activity in Minnesota. The award is named for Kay Sexton, a book buyer for many years at Dayton’s and B. Dalton Bookstores in the Twin Cities.

Meet the Finalists, Friday, March 15, 2013, 7 p.m. at Open Book, 1011 Washington Ave. S, Minneapolis. The Minnesota Book Awards partners with the Loft Literary Center to present the 2013 finalists. Each participating author will conduct a brief presentation on their nominated title. Reception with refreshments to follow. Free and open to the public.

For additional information on the 25th Annual Minnesota Book Awards or the Gala, please call 651-366-6497.  The Minnesota Book Awards is sponsored by Marvin Windows and Doors and presented by The Friends of the Saint Paul Public Library. Generous support for the Book Awards has been provided by the Harlan Boss Foundation for the Arts; Huss Foundation; Katherine B. Andersen Fund of The Saint Paul Foundation; and The McKnight Foundation, as well as the City of St. Paul’s Cultural STAR program. Outreach partners and supporting organizations include: The Loft Literary Center; Metropolitan Library Services Agency (MELSA); Minnesota Center for Book Arts; Minnesota Department of Education—State Library Services; Minnesota Educational Media Organization; Minnesota Library Foundation; and Saint Paul Almanac. Media sponsors include the Pioneer Press and; MPR ; Saint Paul Neighborhood Network (SPNN); and TPT–Minnes
ota Channel.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: